top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlanna

Passports, Planes, and Pandas... oh my!

Updated: Apr 8, 2019

We have lived in North Carolina for FOUR YEARS! That is longer than I have lived anywhere in my adult life. Although Rob and I both grew up in North Carolina, I moved away when I was 23 and didn't come back until 4 years ago. We have made this home again, but home is where the plane lands for the Staton family; and this will be the 4th foreign country we will move to.

Although this probably comes as no surprise to those of you who know us best, I'm sure you won't all understand. And that's okay. Here's the who, what, where, when, and why for those of you who are interested:

Who:

Staton, party of 4. 

What and Where: We are leaving on a jet plane to the beautiful beaches of China. We will be living in a small city by China's standards (with ONLY 1.7 million people) just outside of Hong Kong. With a daily average temperature of 80 degrees F, it will be tough adjusting to life with year-round outdoor swimming opportunities. ;) 

When: Starting in July of 2019- and  we will stay for at least two years. 

Why: This is somewhat difficult to explain, but let me just say that the pros outweighed the cons in this situation. There are opportunities for us in China that were not available in North Carolina.  We have tried SO HARD multiple times to live a "normal" life in the U.S. But I think it may not be in the cards for us. And I'm starting to accept that.

I also feel that I am called to this lifestyle. One of my recent favorite verses is Isaiah 6:8 when God says- Who will I send?- and Isaiah says- Here I am! Send me! I realized recently that my calling is to fill in the gap wherever I am needed. I will go wherever I am meant to go for however long I am meant to be there. I also know that this is meant to be, because everything lined up perfectly when we were in the midst of this decision. For example, with our son having autism it was extremely important that we also found a program to help him with his unique learning needs. We have him in such an incredible school here in North Carolina, and I was able to find what seems to be an incredible school there as well- with a special education program.

On top of all of this, there is also something oddly satisfying about condensing everything I own into 2 suitcases (per person).

Rob and I have never traveled to or lived in East Asia, so this adds another opportunity for us to explore Asia with our children. China has always intrigued me with its ancient history. Its rich geography covers multiple terrains and climates. It is full of jaw dropping beauty.

I have no delusions that this will solve all of our problems. I know we will go through a honeymoon phase where everything will be magical and wonderful. I know we will then go through a very deep longing for home. I know we will face multiple challenges with the language and culture.  I know there will be moments we will regret our decision. But I also know that what we will gain spiritually, emotionally, physically, and financially will far exceed those challenges. And hey, at the end of the day, I can always go sit on the beach and watch the sunset. 



269 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page